Directory of Residential BMP Assistance Programs

Table below is from Appendix D of the Homeowner Guide For a More Bay-Friendly Property.

The following is a list of programs in the Chesapeake Bay Watershed that provide technical (T), financial (F) or other (O) types of assistance to homeowners installing stewardship practices on their residential property. Since several of the programs provide assistance on a watershed basis, multiple communities may benefit from a particular program and so the programs have been grouped geographically rather than alphabetically.

 

Organization Name of Program Website Type of Assistance
F T O
Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay Chesapeake Riverwise Communities https://allianceforthebay.org/category/our-work/riverwise/
Maryland
Blue Water Baltimore Blue Water Audit http://www.bluewaterbaltimore.org/programs/clean-waterways/waterauditprogram/
Baltimore County Environmental Protection and Sustainability Stormwater  Retrofit Management Program http://www.baltimorecountymd.gov/Agencies/environment/watershedrestoration/retrofits.html
Gunpowder Conservancy Clear Creeks Project http://www.gunpowderfalls.org/bay-wise-practices.html
Pretty Boy Watershed Alliance http://www.prettyboywatershed.org/educational-materials
Frederick County Sustainability Office Green Homes Challenge, Green Leader https://www.frederickgreenchallenge.org/
Frederick County Sustainability Office Neighborhood Green www.frederickcountymd.gov/ngreen  
Monocacy and Catoctin Watershed Alliance http://www.watershed-alliance.com/mcwa_restore.html
City of Gaithersburg RainScapes Rewards http://www.gaithersburgmd.gov/poi/default.asp
City of Rockville RainScapes Rewards http://www.rockvillemd.gov/environment/watersheds/rainscapes.html
Montgomery County DEP RainScapes Rewards http://www6.montgomerycountymd.gov/dectmpl.asp?url=/content/dep/water/rainscapes.asp
Anacostia Watershed Society http://www.anacostiaws.org/
National Capital Region Watershed Stewards Academy http://www.anacostiaws.org/programs/education/watershed-stewards-academy
Prince George’s County Department of the Environment http://www.princegeorgescountymd.gov/sites/environmentalresources/Pages/default.aspx
Howard County Government Clean Water Howard www.cleanwaterhoward.com
Howard County Watershed Stewards Academy http://howardwsa.org/
Midshore RiverKeeper Conservancy http://midshoreriverkeeper.org/
Chester River Association http://www.chesterriverassociation.org/
Corsica River Conservancy http://www.corsicariverconservancy.org/activities
Sassafras River Association http://www.sassafrasriver.org/
Anne Arundel Watershed Stewards Academy http://www.aawsa.org/
Anne Arundel County WERS www.aacounty.org/DPW/Highways/RainGarden.cfm
South River Federation www.southriverfederation.net
Severn River Association www.severnriver.org/
West Rhode RiverKeeper www.westrhoderiverkeeper.org/
RainScaping Campaign http://www.rainscaping.org/
University of Maryland SeaGrant Extension Watershed Restoration Specialists http://www.mdsg.umd.edu/programs/extension/communities/watershed/specialists/
University of Maryland Extension Bay-Wise Certification Program  http://extension.umd.edu/baywise
Bay-wise Master Gardeners Bay-wise Yard Visits http://extension.umd.edu/baywise/program-certification
Local Watershed Groups http://www.montgomerycountymd.gov/dep/
District of Columbia
National Capital Region Watershed Stewards Academy http://www.anacostiaws.org/programs/education/watershed-stewards-academy
District DDOE RiverSmart Homes http://green.dc.gov/riversmarthomes
Pennsylvania
Conewago Creek Watershed Conewago Creek Initiative http://www.conewagoinitiative.net/
Little Conestoga Partnership http://www.littleconestoga.org/
Blair Conservation District http://www.blairconservationdistrict.org
Altoona, PA http://www.altoonapa.gov/Pages/StormwaterInformation.aspx
Virginia
Lynchburg, VA Residential Credit Program http://www.lynchburgva.gov/stormwater-credit-program
James River Association River Hero Homes http://www.jrava.org/what-we-do/river-hero/
Elizabeth River Project River Star Homes http://www.elizabethriver.org/RiverStars/default.aspx
Richmond, VA Residential Credit http://www.richmondgov.com/PublicUtilities/documents/SWcreditmanual.pdf
Arlington, VA StormwaterWise https://environment.arlingtonva.us/stormwaterwise/
Lynnhaven River Now Pearl Homes http://www.lynnhavenrivernow.org/gardening.aspx
Friends of the Rappahannock Rainscape Retrofits http://www.riverfriends.org/OurPrograms/MiddleandUpperWatershed/tabid/607/Default.aspx
James City County Clean Water Heritage Program http://www.jamescitycountyva.gov/cleanwater/
Reedy Creek Coalition http://reedycreekcoalition.org/financial-incentive-program/
City of Fredericksburg http://www.riverfriendlyyard.com/
Chesterfield County http://www.chesterfield.gov/content2.aspx?id=8589944309
Hanover-Caroline
SWCD
http://www.co.hanover.va.us/soilandwater/urban.htm
Colonial
SWCD
http://colonialswcd.net/about/
Master Gardeners of Virginia http://vmga.net/Links.htm

Homeowner Guide For a More Bay-Friendly Property

This guide presents a step by step approach for analyzing your property to find out whether it makes sense to install a rain garden or other residential stewardship practices. We then take you through the design and installation of several of the homeowner practices, so that you can install them on your own. Many Bay communities offer technical and financial assistance to help you install stewardship practices on your lot. Check out Appendix D for a list of links to these programs.

Version 10/8/14 | Size (4 MB) | File type (.pdf) | Download